Governing Board

The Governing Board is the supreme governing body of the Pandemic Fund. The Governing Board, comprising of 21 voting members, reflects an equal balance of sovereign “contributors” (donors) and sovereign “co-investors” (countries that could receive funding), includes a voting seat for non-sovereign contributors (philanthropies/foundations) and two voting seats for civil society organizations (CSOs). The Governing Board is led by two co-Chairs: Dr. Chatib Basri, Indonesia’s former Minister for Finance, and Dr. Sabin Nsanzimana, Rwanda’s Minister of Health.

In addition, there are several non-voting members, including the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Technical Advisory Panel and the G20 Presidency. The World Bank, in its various capacities, and the World Health Organization, participate as observers on the Governing Board alongside other Multilateral Development Banks (MDBs) and agencies selected as Implementing Entities..

Voting Members

Co-Chairs (2 seats)

  • Chatib Basri Bio Former Minister of Finance, Indonesia
  • Sabin Nsanzimana Bio Minister of Health, Rwanda

Sovereign Contributors (9 seats)

  • Constituency: United States
  • Principal: John N. Nkengasong Bio Ambassador-at-Large, U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator and Senior Bureau Official for Global Health Security and Diplomacy; Bureau of Global Health Security and Diplomacy, Department of State
  • Alternate(s): Eric O. Meyer Bio Deputy Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Constituency: European Commission
  • Principal: Martin Seychell Bio Director of Directorate, 'One Health' in DG SANTE
  • Alternate(s): Roser Domenech Amado Bio Director “One Health”, DG Health & Food Safety, European Commission
  • Constituency: Germany
  • Principal: Wolfram Morgenroth-Klein Bio Head of Division, Prevention and Pandemic Preparedness, One Health; Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), Germany
  • Alternate(s): Alicia Longthorne Bio Senior Policy Officer, Global Health Policy Division, Federal Ministry of Health (BMG), Germany
  • Constituency: Italy
  • Principal: Francesca Manno Bio Director, Department of International Finance Relations, Ministry of Economy and Finance, Italy
  • Alternate(s): Eleonora Mei Bio Economic and Financial Analyst, Ministry of Economy and Finance
  • Constituency: India, Indonesia, United Arab Emirates
  • Principal: Syarifah Liza Munira Bio Director General, Health Policy Agency at the Ministry of Health, Republic of Indonesia
  • Alternate(s): ALI Abdullah Sharafi Bio Act. Asst. Undersecretary for Int. Financial Relationship Sector, United Arab Emirates
    Rajeev Topno Bio Senior Advisor to the WB Executive Director, India
  • Constituency: Canada, Norway, United Kingdom
  • Principal: Kristen Chenier Bio Director of Policy, Infectious Diseases and Pandemic Preparedness within Global Affairs, Health and Nutrition Bureau, Canada
  • Alternate(s): Kristine Husøy Onarheim Bio Senior Advisor, Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    Niall Fry Bio Team Leader, Foreign, Commonwealth, & Development Office, United Kingdom
  • Constituency: Australia, Japan, Korea, Singapore
  • Principal: Daiho Fujii Bio Deputy Vice Minister for International Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Japan
  • Alternate(s): Fleur Davies Bio Assistant Secretary, Multilateral Health Branch, Global Health Division Department of Foreign and Trade, Australia
    Jisung Moon Bio Deputy Director General for International Finance Bureau, Ministry of Economy and Finance, Republic of Korea
    Derrick Heng Bio Deputy Director-General of Health (Public Health), Ministry of Health, Singapore
  • Constituency: France, Netherlands, Spain
  • Principal: Anne-Claire Amprou Bio Ambassador for Global Health, Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs, France
  • Alternate(s): Blanca Yáñez Minondo Bio Head of Department for Multilateral Cooperation and European Union, Spanish Agency for International Cooperation for Development
    Johanneke de Hoogh Bio Senior Health Expert, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, The Netherlands
  • Constituency: China
  • Principal: Zhijun Cheng Bio Director General of the Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance
  • Alternate(s): Hongxia Li Bio Deputy Director General, Department of International Economic and Financial Cooperation, Ministry of Finance

Non-Sovereign Contributors (1 seat)

  • Constituency: Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Rockefeller Foundation, Wellcome Trust
  • Principal: Kieran Daly Bio Director, Global Health Agencies and Funds, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Alternate(s): Naveen Rao Bio Vice President, Global Health, Rockefeller Foundation

Sovereign Co-Investors (9 seats)

  • Constituency: Bangladesh representing South-East Asia Region
  • Principal: Samanta Lal Sen Bio Minister of Health and Family Welfare
  • Alternate(s): A B M Khurshid Alam Bio Director General, Directorate General of Health Services
    Nargis Khanam Bio Additional Secretary (Planning), Health Services Division, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
  • Constituency: Democratic Republic of Congo representing Africa (AFRO – Central)
  • Principal: O’neige Nsele Bio Deputy Minister of Finance
  • Alternate(s): Sylvian Yuma Ramazani Bio Secretary General, Ministry of Public Health, Hygiene and Prevention
    Christian Diomi Maboti Bio Alternate Representative, Ministry of Finance
  • Constituency: Egypt representing Eastern-Mediterranean (EMRO – North & Horn of Africa)
  • Principal: Mai Farid Bio Acting CEO, Universal Health Insurance Authority
  • Alternate(s): Mohamed Hassany Bio Assistant Minister of Health
  • Constituency: Guyana representing the Americas
  • Principal: Frank Anthony Bio Minister of Health
  • Alternate(s): Zulfikar Ally Bio Deputy Chief of Mission, Embassy of Guyana to the United States
  • Constituency: Kyrgyz Republic representing Europe
  • Principal: VACANT
  • Alternate(s): Bakyt Dzhangaziev Bio Deputy Minister of Health
  • Constituency: Pakistan representing Eastern-Mediterranean (EMRO – Middle East & Central Asia)
  • Principal: Syed Moazzam Ali Bio Additional Secretary, Ministry of National Health Services, Regulations, and Coordination
  • Alternate(s): Adil Akbar Khan Bio Senior Joint Secretary (World Bank), Ministry of Economic Affairs
  • Constituency: The Philippines representing Western Pacific
  • Principal: Ralph G. Recto Bio Secretary of the Department of Finance and Member of the Monetary Board
  • Alternate(s): Teodoro J. Herbosa Bio Secretary of Health
    Joven Z. Balbosa Bio Undersecretary of International Finance Group
  • Constituency: Rwanda representing Africa (AFRO – East/South)
  • Principal: Claude Mambo Muvunyi Bio Director General, Rwanda Biomedical Center
  • Alternate(s): Gerald Mugabe Bio Director General of External Finance, Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning
  • Constituency: Senegal representing Africa (EFRO West)
  • Principal: Mamadou Moustapha Ba Bio Minister of Finance and Budget
  • Alternate(s): Marie Khemesse Ngom Ndiaye Bio Minister of Health & Social Action

Civil Society Organizations (2 seats)

  • Constituency: Global South
  • Principal: Aida Kurtovic Bio Board member, South-Eastern Europe Regional HIV and TB Community Network | Senior Manager: Global Partnerships, Management Sciences for Health
  • Alternate(s): Diah S. Saminarsih Bio Chief Executive Officer, Center for Indonesia’s Strategic Development Initiatives (CISDI)
  • Constituency: Global North
  • Principal: Elisha Dunn-Georgiou Bio President and CEO, Global Health Council
  • Alternate(s): Loretta Wong Bio Deputy Chief of Global Advocacy and Policy, AIDS Healthcare Foundation